Impressive Line Up in Miami

Impressive Line Up in Miami
February 7, 2020 Mattias Dahlström

Impressive Line Up for M32 Miami Winter Series

It’s an impressive fleet of 12 coming to Miami for the 2nd event of the Miami Winter Series. Experienced teams and champions are mixed with teams doing their first event in the boat. This is the second event of the Miami Winter Series and the highly sought after M32 Rooster Trophy will be awarded after the next event in March.

With the Miami events being so appreciated the class have decided to extend their stay in Miami and will host a fourth event from April 24-26. The class is happy to present the M32 Sandbar Cup, which will not be part of the series but scored separately. It is also the plan to allow crew and skipper changes in a more liberal way, giving both old and new teams an opportunity to experiment with crew configurations or invite friends for a few races. Dave Doucett of M32 North America: “The concept which was suggested by a local Miami M32 sailor, is to host the award ceremony on the famous Miami sandbar where you will find A very festive Miami scene on the weekend. We are looking forward to having a “tender raft up”at the finale of the winter sailing in Miami in 2020. It is sure to be one of the more unique locations for an award ceremony.

Not less than 4 teams from Europe have made the trip to Miami to measure themselves against the American fleet. Top European teams Richard Goransson’s Inga from Sweden and Richard Davies’ Section 16 are joined by fleet newcomers August Schram’s Stella Maris from Austria and Harold Vermeulen’s LeeLoo from the Netherlands. The European Series is only a few months away with the first event in Sanremo, Italy.

The team to beat is Convexity helmed by Don Wilson and with tactician Taylor Canfield. The team is the reigning World Champion and also won the first Miami Winter Series event a month ago. The team is not unbeatable, both Pieter Taselaars’ Bliksem and Jen Wilsons’ Convergence have had the top spot at recent events. Team Bliksem suffered an unfortunate breakdown at a gate incident during the January event that cost them a lot of points. Nevertheless they did take a podium place and are eager to win.

Crew list M32 Miami Winter Series Event 2

AUTStella MarisAugust SchramSUI
Nico Delle KarthAUT
Udo MoserAUT
Martin NeidhardtAUT
Nikolay KornevRUS
USAConvexityDon WilsonUSA
Taylor CanfieldISV
Ted HackneyUSA
Kinley FowlerAUS
Josh McCafferyUSA
USAConvergenceJen WilsonUSA
Chris SteeleNZL
Ricky McGarvieUSA
Will TillerNZL
Ava WilsonUSA
BERHedgehogAlec CutlerBER
Torvar MirskyAUS
Micael BarnesGBR
Bernardo FreitasPOR
Cameron SeagreenAUS
USAMidtownLarry PhillipsUSA
Michael SalasUSA
Sam HallowellUSA
Mark SpearmanUSA
Victor Diaz de LeónUSA
NEDBlicksemPieter TaselaarNED
Pauly AtkinsAUS
Kieth SwintonAUS
Rhys MaraAUS
Julius HallströmSWE
SWEInga from SwedenRichard GoranssonSWE
Adam MinoprioNZL
Oliver TizzardGBR
Christian KampDEN
Mark BulkleyGBR
SUISection 16Ricard DaviesGBR
Anthony KotounUSA
Rasmus KostnerDEN
Chris RastSUI
Hervé CunninghamSUI
USASurgeRyan McKillenUSA
Jakob WilsonSWE
Lucas CalabreseARG
Sam loghbouroughUSA
Mike KushnerUSA
NEDLeeLooHarald VermeulenNED
Tom van der VechtNED
Gideon MastenbroekNED
Herman de KnopNED
Jochem OostenbroekNED
USAExtreme2Dan ChereshUSA
Dave ShrinerUSA
John WallaceUSA
USAYoung AmericanCarina BeckerUSA
Key BeckerUSA
Blake CabassaUSA
Gordon GurnellUSA
Chris Manson-HingUSA